Newsflash: Scotland to introduce toughest Covid restrictions in 11 Council areas this Friday 20th November 2020

17 Nov

The first minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon has announced “Level four” rules in 11 council areas from this Friday (20th November 2020) as follows:

  • Five of the six councils within the Greater Glasgow and Clyde health board area, with the exception of Inverclyde.
  • Stirling.
  • West Lothian.
  • East Ayrshire.
  • South Ayrshire.
  • North Lanarkshire.
  • South Lanarkshire.

It has been reported that Ms Sturgeon said there were grounds for "continued and significant concern" about levels of the virus and  added: "The infection rate in all of these areas remains stubbornly and worryingly high.

"At these levels, we simply do not have the assurance we need that hospital and ICU services will be able to cope as we go deeper into winter."

In Hospitality, “Level four” rules will see;

  • Restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars will be closed. 
  • Takeaways can still operate as normal, provided food and drink is sold for consumption off premises. Face coverings and physical distancing rules must be followed.
  • Hotels and other accommodation providers can still serve food to qualifying guests i.e. key or exempt workers, staying in their premises up to 22:00. Room service, including alcohol, is allowed as normal.

The Sectors guidance for Scotland  is at: sector guidance for tourism and hospitality

Should you require advice regarding your licenced premises please contact our team on 0114 266 8664.

Law correct at the date of publication.
Back to Latest News